1. You can now buy finished microcontroller project from us, Check out the Store for the complete list of projects.
  2. Need a custom project, Send us some details about your project. So that we can quote the price for it.

Need Help - Using 8051 with RS232

Discussion in 'Microcontrollers' started by maxfourier, Aug 7, 2011.

1. maxfourier

maxfourier New Member

I'm an electronics student working on my first project. I have explained my problem below. Need some help.

Please consider that I'm a newbie with projects.. I have only brought a few things and downloaded some software. Apart from that I have my logic ready. So, all i would need to do is write the code and program the microcontroller.

This is what i have :

Hardware :

8051 (NXP 80V51RD2)
    RS232 with DB9
    max232

Software :

Keil
    Flash Magic

What i want to do : is just program the microprocessor. I have tried Googling "Interfacing 8051 rs232" but could not really get it.

I can interface the microprocessor and the max232 but I'm having problems interfacing the RS232.

Moreover, I have NO idea how (& where) to connect the RS232. Here is what my cable looks like :

[​IMG]

Again, What i need to know is:

-Which side of the cable goes where(PC n 8051)
    -How is it connected to the microprocessor.
    -How do I write my c code into the microprocessor - How to convert it to hex(or whatever required)? Why do I need Keil & Flash Magic?
    Tags:
  2. tushki7

tushki7 New Member

Dont worry its easy !!!

Hello,
    first of all i think microcontroller you are using is P89v51rd2 !!!:cool:
    ok here is the solution :
    1. Do you have any microcontroller book?? if not i suggest you to buy one (The 8051 microcontroller and embedded systems by MAZIDI)..
    2. here is the circuit for max232 : RS232.jpg
    3. after connecting rx and tx pins to microcntroller, do following connections to make p89v51rd2 work:
    1747-200705151343449451.gif.jpg